We're here for you: A message from Canadian Chicken Farmers regarding COVID-19

Our People

For nearly 40 years, the Canadian chicken industry has grown to unprecedented heights, with a multi-faceted approach to its development.

Executive Committee

The 15-member Board of Directors, made up of farmers and other stakeholders from the chicken industry, provides leadership on Chicken Farmers of Canada’s strategic plan and mission and has chosen the following representatives:

Benoît Fontaine
Hailing from Stanbridge Station, Quebec, Benoît Fontaine, Chair of Chicken Farmers of Canada, first joined the Board of Directors in 2013 as an alternate and became the Quebec Director in 2014. He farms in the Lac Champlain area and raises chickens and turkeys. A former high school Canadian history teacher and principal, and 2nd generation chicken farmer, Benoît has also been heavily involved with the Éleveurs de volailles du Quebec since 1999. Benoît became Chair of CFC in 2016.
Nick de Graaf
Nick de Graaf, 1st Vice-Chair, is a third-generation poultry farmer in the Annapolis Valley of Nova Scotia operating the farm founded by his Dutch grandfather in the early 1960’s. Today the farm produces both chickens and turkeys. Nick is also part of Innovative Poultry Group (IPG) which farms broiler breeders and owns Maritime Chicks, a new, state-of-the-art hatchery employing the HatchCare system. In addition to poultry, Nick grows more than 2,000 acres of wheat, corn, and soybeans. He is self-sufficient in the production of corn and soybeans for his on-farm feed mill where he processes poultry feeds for his own flocks. Nick is in his 9th year as a Director with Chicken Farmers of Nova Scotia. He has held several roles with Chicken Farmers of Canada, including as Chair of the Production Committee and the representative to the National Farm Animal Care Council (NFACC). Nick and his wife, Trudy, have three children and three grandchildren.
Tim Klompmaker
Tim Klompmaker, 2nd Vice-Chair, lives in Norwood, Ontario and was elected to the Chicken Farmers of Canada Board in 2017. Tim started farming in 1984 along with his wife Annette and his three sons. He is a third-generation chicken farmer with the fourth generation already in place and running chicken farms of their own. Tim served as a District Committee Representative for Chicken Farmers of Ontario before being elected to the Ontario Board in 2010. He previously served as Alternate Representative for Ontario from 2012-2013, and has participated on the Production Committee, the Policy Committee, the Governance Committee, and as the representative to NFACC. He has also served as 2nd Vice-Chair of Chicken Farmers of Ontario.
Derek Janzen
Derek Janzen, the Executive Member, and his wife Rhonda have farmed in the Fraser Valley since 1998. They currently raise chickens and manage commercial laying hens. Prior to farming, Derek worked for B.C.’s largest poultry processor for nearly nine years. He worked his way up from driving delivery truck to sales and marketing where he took the position of Major Accounts Manager. Derek’s experience in the processing industry has served him well with his board involvement. Derek has held various positions on a variety of other boards too, including Chair of the B.C. Egg Producers Association and he was appointed by the Minister of Agriculture as a member of the Farm Industry Review Board, B.C.’s supervisory board.

The Board of Directors

The Board

Chair: Benoît Fontaine (Quebec)
  • Derek Janzen (British Columbia)
  • Dennis Steinwand (Alberta)
  • Nick Langelaar (Saskatchewan)
  • Ted Froese (Manitoba)
  • Tim Klompmaker (Ontario)
  • François Cloutier (Quebec)
  • Marc Cormier (New Brunswick)
  • Nick de Graaf (Nova Scotia)
  • Barry Uyterlinde (Prince Edward Island)
  • Paul Dunphy (Newfoundland & Labrador)
  • Yvan Brodeur (Canadian Poultry and Egg Processors Council (CPEPC): Chicken Primary Processing (CPP))
  • Kerry Towle (CPEPC: CPP)
  • Don Kilimnik (CPEPC: Poultry Further Processing)
  • Paolo DiManno (Restaurants Canada)



  • Chair – Benoît Fontaine
  • 1st Vice Chair – Nick de Graaf
  • 2nd Vice Chair – Tim Klompmaker
  • Executive Member – Derek Janzen


  • Chair – Barry Uyterlinde
  • Nick Langelaar
  • Dennis Steinwand


  • Chair – Dennis Steinwand
  • Don Kilimnik
  • Tim Klompmaker


  • Chair – Tim Klompmaker
  • Yvan Brodeur
  • François Cloutier
  • Marc Cormier
  • Derek Janzen


  • Chair – Nick de Graaf
  • Luce Bélanger (Quebec, alternate)
  • Rick Kaptein (Ontario, alternate)
  • Lucy McKee (CPEPC: CPP, alternate)
  • Rob Van Diemen (Alberta alternate)
  • Marco Volpé (New Brunswick, alternate)

Consumer Relations

  • Chair – Paolo DiManno
  • Ted Froese
  • Ron teStroete (N.S., alternate)

Representatives to Other Organizations

  • Canadian Federation of Agriculture (CFA): Nick Langelaar
  • Canadian Poultry Research Council (CPRC): Ray Nickel (B.C. alternate)
  • National Farm Animal Care Council (NFACC): Nick de Graaf
  • National Farmed Animal Health and Welfare Council (NFAHW): Marco Volpé



  • Michael Laliberté
    Executive Director
  • Nicole Faubert
    Executive Assistant

Trade and Policy

  • Yves Ruel
    Associate Executive Director
  • Tara Molloy
    Trade & Policy Analyst


  • Lori Piché
    Director of Finance
  • Jae Yung Chung
    Senior Financial Analyst
  • Maria Elena Baisas
    Financial Officer
  • Ayodeji Oni
    Financial Coordinator

Human Resources and Administration

  • Lisa Riopelle
    Director of Human Resources & Adminstration
  • Bibiane Rietveld
    Board Logistics Officer

Brand and Communications

  • Lisa Bishop-Spencer
    Director of Brand & Communications
  • Marty Brett
    Senior Corporate Communications Officer
  • Karen Ronayne
    Senior Design Officer
  • Jeff Graham
    Senior Creative Content Officer

Public Affairs

  • Lauren Kennedy
    Director of Public Affairs
  • Berivan Abuzeyit
    Public Affairs Officer
  • vacant
    Public Relations Officer

Food Safety and Animal Health

  • Steve Leech
    Director of Food Safety & Animal Health
  • Jessica Heyerhoff
    Communication & Policy Officer
  • Kavita Walia
    Food Safety Officer & Internal Auditor

Animal Care and Sustainability

  • Christine Power
    Director of Animal Care & Sustainability
  • Jennifer Gardner
    Animal Care & Research Officer

Market Information and Systems

  • Jan Rus
    Director of Market Information & Systems
  • Denis Nadeau
    Business Systems Analyst
  • Mengrou Wang
    Market Analyst