Chicken Farmers of Canada Welcomes New Chair

November 18, 2016 (Ottawa) – This morning, the Board of Directors of Chicken Farmers of Canada (CFC) elected Benoît Fontaine as its new Chair.

Hailing from Stanbridge Station, Quebec, Mr. Fontaine most recently served as the 1st Vice-Chair of the CFC Executive Committee. He first joined the Board of Directors in 2013 as an alternate, and became the Quebec Director in 2014. He farms in the Lac Champlain area and raises chicken and turkeys. A former high school Canadian history teacher, and 2nd generation chicken farmer, Mr. Fontaine has also been heavily involved in the Union des producteurs agricoles since 1999. Mr. Fontaine has also served on CFC’s Policy Committee and the Production Committee.

Today’s election follows the resignation from CFC of Dave Janzen, who has stepped down as Chair due to personal reasons. Mr. Janzen represented British Columbia on the CFC Board of Directors as an alternate in 2006 and served as the B.C. Director since 2008. He joined the Executive Committee in 2010 and became Chair in 2012.

The CFC Board of Directors would like to thank Mr. Janzen for his many years of dedication, leadership and service, and wish him well in all his future endeavours.

The Board also welcomes Derek Janzen to the Executive Committee as 1st Vice Chair.

The Board looks forward to continuing its work together, ensuring that Canada’s chicken industry continues to deliver on consumer expectations for excellence. With an eye to the future, Chicken Farmers of Canada will work with all its partners, ensuring clear, common goals for the future, and setting a solid path and purpose for all stakeholders, and for generations of chicken farmers to come.


For more information:
Marty Brett, Senior Communications Officer
(613) 566-5926